Veleposlaništvo RS Ottawa /Novice /

Evropski mesec kulture s številnimi prireditvami v Ottawi, Torontu, Montrealu in Quebec City

European Month of Culture 
                 Discover Europe's rich cultural heritage

V počastitev 9. maja Dneva Evrope, Deleagcija EU in Veleposlaništva držav članic EU pripravljajo številne kulturne aktivnosti, ki bodo potekale v Ottawi, Torontu, Montrealu in Quebec City med 22. aprilom in 31. majem 2016. Več informacij in program je v sporočilu nadaljevanju...

OTTAWA – To mark 9 May Europe Day, the European Union Delegation to Canada and the Embassies of EU Member States are delighted to unveil a full slate of cultural activities. The European Month of Culture gets underway on 22 April and runs through 31 May in Ottawa, Toronto, Montreal and Quebec City.

On 9 May 66 years ago, Robert Schuman, the French foreign affairs minister at the time and one of EU’s founding fathers, presented his vision of a united and peaceful Europe in his historic Declaration, which would lead to the birth of the European Union.

This first edition of the European Month of Culture features everything from film festivals and concerts to exhibits and theatre performances showcasing the rich and diverse European cultural heritage.

Participating Member States include Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden. Find full programme here.

"Europe’s cultural heritage is rich and diverse and we are proud to be able to share this cultural experience with Canadians, with whom we share cultural and historic affinities. This is a particularly special occasion to celebrate our strong friendship with Canada on an anniversary year marking 40 years of the European Union's presence here," said European Union Ambassador Marie-Anne Coninsx.

"Culture is at the very heart of Europe's external action. This week, our High Representative Federica Mogherini launched the first ever European Strategy on Cultural Diplomacy, which aims to promote cultural exchanges, to strengthen diplomatic relations and mutual understanding," Ambassador Coninsx added.

To learn more about the EU's Strategy on Cultural Diplomacy, click here.

Follow @EUinCanada and and use hashtags #EUCulture2016; #EUCanada40

The European Union Delegation to Canada is a fully-fledged diplomatic mission with a mandate to promote the policies and positions of the European Union in Canada, to enhance the knowledge and understanding of the European Union as well as to give visibility, promote and strengthen EU-Canada relations. The EU Delegation also coordinates activities of European Union Member States in Canada, under the rules of the Treaty on European Union. Of the European Union's 28 Member States, 26 have diplomatic missions in Ottawa.